Hello Zero Meredian Line!

Did you know about GMT ( greenwhich mean time )? in general, it’s one of the referral when it comes to the timezone within our solar system. It’s commonly use by United Kingdom and its commonwealth and.. also by my beloved country – Indonesia. It looks as per map below, you could see where your country position within it!

http://By TimeZonesBoy – US Central Intelligence Agency, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=22556731

This solar system was at times confusing for me when i was working cross boundaries timezones. I have to mention that this is only one way to indicate a timezone, sometimes my partners will use UTC instead. Hence, i’ve learned that it’s easier to say e.g. 10 AM Jakarta Time / 11 AM Kuala Lumpur Time / 12 PM Japan Time instead of saying 10 AM. ( GMT + 7 ). pssssttt have you noticed that China ( that big giant country ) only has 1 time zone? and how Malaysia & Singapore though located geographically within GMT+7 choose to be at GMT+8?

Nevertheless, i was so excited to finally be at the PRIME LINE! My engineering brain and heart fluttered. That was one moment where i was trying to recall all of those stories of how an observatory works.

If you have a chance to visit UK and Greenwhich while also being partly/wholeheartedly geek like me, please go and get into the observatory area. Inside you could see some histories related with our timezones. Let’s have a look inside.

You will be able to see the history of time and how it’s being measured from time to time. I was in awed on how the journey went on and on up until today. I can’t imagine how to live a life without it. Maybe one day i will be back here and who knows? wish you will be there too being all excited with me! cheers! 😉

One thought on “Hello Zero Meredian Line!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s